Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
494 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All, I am buying a new skiff and I haven't owned a 2 stroke in 12 years or so. I have a bay boat with a 250 VMAX SHO on it and I have run this stuff religiously and it has run great since day one.

Question is, I will have an Etec 60 on this new skiff, what should I run to keep carbon down?

·
Registered
4,434 Posts
Talk to your BRP dealer... E-Tecs aren't anything like the old carbureted two strokes... I've been running them since 2005 and like the three I've had a lot (they are all 90's...). My current one has over 2000 hours on it - in hard commercial service.

·
Registered
494 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yea, I just wanted to get some opinions and real world experience. We all know there are agendas out there for dealers often times. Not saying always but its good to get a breadth of opinions from many sources to form a better decision.

·
Registered
4,434 Posts
an added FYI... I've never run anything but ethanol laced fuel in my E-Tecs - without the slightest problem ... I was worried about it and learned that these motors aren't nearly as fuel sensitive as some brands I can think of. This, when other makes were actually carrying extra fuel filters because of serious ethanol fuel problems, years ago.

I'm very aware that each manufacturer has their own preferred lubricants and fuel additives - and they're a significant profit maker. In the case of BRP - all of the E-Tec power packages were actually computer designed - before the first part for one was ever made... That's why I recommend that you listen carefully to what your dealer (particularly the techs...) have to say. The lower units are little different than they ever were - the powerplants are quite a bit different... very fuel efficient, and absolutely cleaner burning than the newest four stroke (like I said - not your old carbed two stroke at all...).