Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm planning to purchase a new Gheenoe LT-10 and am shopping for the motor. I found a distributor in Singapore that has fantastic prices on new, prior year models. Their website is outboardmotorssale.com The motor I'm considering is a 2017 Honda 9.9 BF10DK3SHS 15" electric start for $1,783 + $155 shipping = $1,938. I'm new to outboards and Gheenoes and I don't know what I don't know about uncrating a motor that's been sitting in a crate in Asia for a couple years, sticking it on the back of a Gheenoe and firing it up.

Would you do it? Why or why not?

·
Zephyr Cove is on FIRE!
9,164 Posts
I see no issue with that. It wouldn’t be any different than guys that buy a 2 stroke motor that’s been sitting over a decade brand new in the crate here in the states. Put oil in it if it needs it, fuel it up and proceed with the recommended break in procedure. You can do some research and you will find it most likely on the Honda web page.

·
Registered
4,280 Posts
I would be leary of buying anything from China outright my daughter bought some shoes offline from over there they never showed up and we had to go to the bank to dispute the charge major pain to recoup her money. I wouldn't take a chance on that kind of money. Just my 2 cents.

·
Registered
3,322 Posts
my son has stuff shipped from china and Singapore frequently. mostly electronic parts but once a whole set of bodywork for a hyabusa. I would be more concerned with the legitimacy of the seller than how long it has sat in a crate.

·
BBA Counselor
6,759 Posts
Nope. I thought about it years ago, then started reading horror stories about all the scams. There was even a recent post on THT about a guy who fell into the trap.

Outside of that, that doesn't seem like enough of a discount to order from overseas to me. $1900+ for a 10 hp motor, I think you can get close to that state side.

·
Registered
3,149 Posts