Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
I Love microskiff.com!
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm considering adding a small center console to a 18' panga marine (tiller 40hp honda). Maybe naïve, but I'm interested in narrower center consoles to preserve interior space--ideally 15" wide or so. Does anyone know of companies that will sell their consoles? The plan would be a small console to serve as grab-bar and for mounting electronics, then eventually converting to remote steering if repower the skiff. I would have preferred Ankona but I don't think they sell theirs piecemeal (which is of course their prerogative, which I respect).
I have no experience glassing or I'd try myself, but expect I'd take a very long time and a lot of money to do something quite poorly.

·
I Love microskiff.com!
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I appreciate the response. I almost mentioned marinefiberglassdirect in the post--they do sell consoles, but I'm specifically looking for something even smaller (specifically narrower) than what they offer. I'm looking for the type of smaller consoles that often get put in microskiffs, ideally 15" wide or so.

·
Premium Member
1,941 Posts
PM sent, may seem high... but would be custom, light, and not sprayed from a chop gun with 4 gallons of excess resin. That said, a 15-16” wide console will probably require either a side mount control box or what I would use is a rear mounted/flush side control box like used in bow riders. When the time comes of course.

·
Registered
444 Posts
I got one I can sell you. For about half of those advertised prices. I will get measurements for you. It’s a bit wider than 15”. But just enough to do a top mount binnacle. Very similar to the one Jsrimeo posted. But with a flange at the base. So you have the option of screwing and glueing with 5200. Or can add a door. So you can tab with glass from inside. With no seat/bait well in front.
Where are you located? I’m in SWFL

·
Registered