Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need your help guys.

The cost of homes in LA has really got my interest, but I have no knowledge of what the fishing is like in different areas. Areas that have my interest are:

South South West of Theriat and Dulac.

Galliano to Grand Isle.

Violet to Venice.

Appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks.

·
Panhandler
2,714 Posts
Grand Isle is a cool spot, but very remote. Limited stores, etc. and it's supposed to be crazy crowded during the annual Tarpon Rodeo. There's a reason why ****** Bulger lived there undetected for a couple years.

·
Registered
2,790 Posts
I travel to La a few times a year for work and play. I don't think I would want to live in Houma. I'd prefer to be in a suburb of NOLA.
If there is anyplace in the state you want to avoid it's Jefferson and Orleans Parish. Dumpster. Fire.

There are a bunch of charming spots south of Houma. There are even some very cool waterfront opportunities along Bayou Terrbonne.

·
Registered
125 Posts
Check out Bay St Louis. Cozy town with a few nice restaurants. On the Gulf. Close enough to NOLA to visit when you get the urge. Has a LA\NOLA influence. Access to Biloxi Marsh.

·
Registered
512 Posts
South of Houma and charming don't normally collide in the same sentence. I need better access to activities, restaurants and grocery stores.
South of Houma means access to Houma restaurants and grocers without sacrificing the distance to fishing.
I've spent a few summers in south LA, and there are some places off 56 south of Houma I'd be willing to call my own.

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thanks a ton guys. Been looking at homes on Zillow south of Houma and there are some stunners for sure at fantastic prices. Population of Houma itself is a little over 30,000 which for me is the perfect sized town to have access to. Believe we will head over there and scope it out in person.

·
Registered