Where do I go (savannah/southern SC/golden isles) ... (NOT asking for spots)

Discussion in 'Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina' started by displaced trout, Apr 15, 2018.

1. displaced trout

displaced trout Active Member

So essentially the story is this: Im VERY new to saltwater fishing, but definitely an experienced fly fisherman. I've recently moved on down pretty far south, and I'm starting to get bored to death with bass ponds. I can figure out the "how to" of actually catching the fish, but I'm a little lost on where to fish. I'm a little ways north of Savannah, so the closer the better, but I can drive a little ways up and down the coast. The problem is I'm pretty limited in the boat department. I've got a buddy with a 14ft aluminum boat with a 9.9 merc and hes starting to come around to the idea of putting it in saltwater, I've got occasional access to kayaks, and I'm not above bank fishing.

What I'm basically asking for is this: where can I put in (boat ramp or kayak spot) and access fish without getting in any big water or running super far? I definitely am not asking anybody to burn their fishing spots, I'm definitely willing to put in the work to find my own fish. I'm just trying to do my best to not sink my boat, get lost at sea, get stuck in mud, etc.

Anyone got any suggestions for somebody who's starting to get pretty intimidated while staring at google maps all night?

flysalt060 likes this.
  2. WillW

WillW I Love microskiff.com!

Might post up in the fly section too

3. Dawhoo

Dawhoo Well-Known Member

Pull up SCDRNR or Georgia equivalent page and find the public boat landings. Compare boat lands to structures like oyster beds on google maps and should find some close spots.

Also look into a fishing map (I think called Top Spot or something like that)

4. displaced trout