Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Pretty much what the title says. I'm new to the boat world and it seems like everyone is talking about yamaha outboards as being the grail of motors. When I did the research though, they all seem to be almost 15 lbs heavier in today's 4 strokes, which is alot when your talking about a 100lb motor. Is the hype just about how good their 2 strokes use to be or are they still considered (if ever) the leading outboard company for other reasons?

·
BBA Counselor
6,918 Posts
Yamaha's were the best up to a few years ago. They were the most reliable you could get according to most mechanics, that's why I bought them. However a few things have changed recently.

First all the other outboard makers (Suzuki, Merc, BRP, tohatsu...) have upped their game. Now most new motors are pretty close on performance and reliability. Yamaha lost a lot of ground because some of the larger motors turned out to have major issues (dry exhaust rot, balancers needing replaced every 100 hours....).

The second thing that happened is that yamaha has lost a lot of fans because their customer service has gone down sharply in recent years.

They are still popular because the diehard fans will stick with them. Think Ford vs Chevy. They are mostly popular because they spend a lot of time buying transoms on new boats.

·
Registered
4,442 Posts
I don't think their customer service is a recent issue, it's been bad for a while.

·
Registered
546 Posts
Strictly my opinion, but... I think it's also based on location. It's hard to find anything other than Yamaha or Mercury tech/dealer or warranty facility around me. I don't see many Zukes, Etecs, or Tohatsus when I'm out on the water.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #8