Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Ankona Sales Rep
2,879 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still new at tying so be gentle....but with poon season right around the corner I decided I am going to focus my tying attention on tying some poon flies. I have the hooks, the thread, the marabou, and the rabbit strips for a tail (I believe)....so my question is what do I use for the head? I know EP fibers are popular but what about craft fur? I have plenty of that in various colors. Also the rabbit strips I have seem to be a little on the small side in terms of the amount of "bushy-ness".....what does everyone use for the tail other than marabou. Thanks!

·
I Love microskiff.com!
1,145 Posts
I prefer all marabou for the tails when tying toads as it won’t get as water logged as the strips.

Craft fur absorbs water more so than ep or Congo hair( cheaper alternative) and is much much harder to get to make a head like that cause the material tapers which means one side of your toad is going to end up wonky looking.

I would find the right materials.

·
Registered
987 Posts
I prefer the EP, I probably wouldn't tie the head with the craft fur. It would be really difficult to get it symmetric.

The first tarpon I actually fought for 50 min was on my own tied toad with a rabbit strip tail with a marabou skirt if you will. Can't go wrong with either rabbit or marabou.

·
Ankona Sales Rep
2,879 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Maribou tail, crosscut rabbit collar and ep head with mono eyes
What is cross cut rabbit collar? Remember I'm new at this so I'm trying to learn the material lingo.

Reactions: duppyzafari

·
Registered
206 Posts
What is cross cut rabbit collar? Remember I'm new at this so I'm trying to learn the material lingo.