TX Question

Discussion in 'Gulf Coast, Alabama to Texas' started by dbrady784, Apr 16, 2017.

1. dbrady784

dbrady784 Well-Known Member

I'm new to TX and just had some questions. I live in freeport and have wade fished near san luis pass a few times. Are there any productive areas closer? Also what are some productive baits? Is getting a boat necessary here? I noticed grass in the marsh on my way beachside, do the reds get up and tail in it like how they would on a flood tide in NE FL or SC? Any advice would help, and if you wanna get together and fish just pm me.

2. Copperspoonfly

Copperspoonfly Well-Known Member

I would set up a trip with Capt Jared Easly. He is a kayak guide and fishes out of Freeport, Matagorda and Galveston. There is some great fishing around Freeport.

3. Sublime

Sublime Well-Known Member

I'm in Angleton. Send me a PM sometime. I need someone to split poling duties with from time to time. However, I am an elitist fly fisher. No baits allowed. ;)

sjrobin likes this.
  4. Whiskey Angler

Whiskey Angler I Love microskiff.com!

I also fish out of freeport. Unfortunately, for waders, its the muddy end of the bay system. Like you said, San Luis has some hard pack sand that you can wade-in on, but PLEASE be careful to learn the safe waters around there. There are many drownings in that at San Luis every year.
    If you aren't ready to get a boat, there is great Kayak Fishing around Christmas Bay, Drum Bay, Swan Lake.

Lastly, don't forget about the surf!!! By the End of May through September, the trout will have moved into the surf, and hand's down, I have never had more fun fishing than on a day where the surf is full of pissed off trout....and no boat/kayak needed for it.

Pompano Kid and Smackdaddy53 like this.
  5. Smackdaddy53

Smackdaddy53 Zephyr Cove is on FIRE!

As stated, be VERY careful wading San Luis Pass, lots of casualties there every year. Swift current and massive dropoffs.