Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

Truck Undercarriage Rust Prevention

2309 28
99.9 percent of the time my truck never touches water during launch.... regardless there's saltwater on the ramp from last guys pulling boat out. I give the truck's rear end a rinse every now and again during boat wash down and wash the truck regularly. Seeing what you guys do for added protection? Safe can spray products and application?
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

· Fly Fishing Shaman
6,347 Posts
Product Liquid Spray Material property Deodorant

https://www.amazon.com/QMAXX-HS025-...t=&hvlocphy=1015018&hvtargid=pla-568256737579

I've been using this stuff for several years now for everything that has to do with any kind of metal vs saltwater and it works great. Spray down the inside of the cowling of the engine of my OB, as well as outside metal components of the OB where I'll spray some in a plastic container and either use some rubber gloves with a rag or use a small paint brush and dab some in the nooks and crannies where I can't get to. I'll also do the same with any hardware on the boat (including aluminum or SS components) and any hardware or metal components on my trailer. I also use a the frame, suspension and hitch of my tow vehicles, all about twice a year. No problems.

That being said, like smackdaddy said, nothing replaces spraying down everything with freshwater after every use. But with the use of QMaxx SALT, I don't have to use high pressure water from a pressure washer, just a normal spraydown from the hose. I've found the the Qmaxx SALT leaves a film that just doesn't come off.

I have a very shallow ramp about 8mins from the house that requires me to back down way out in the water (all tires up to the rims) on a low tide until I get enough water to launch my skiff off my low slung trailer. I had rust problems with several previous tow vehicles and almost gave up launching at that ramp. But now, I don't worry about it so much.

Ted

· Registered
168 Posts