Trouble Shifting into Reverse on 1998 25hp Mercury Tiller

Discussion in 'Outboard Maintenance' started by rkmurphy, Mar 22, 2009.

1. rkmurphy

rkmurphy Well-Known Member

My Merc has the shift built into the handle. It shifts into and out of forward gear just fine but I've been having trouble shifting into reverse. If I can get it in reverse, it's fairly smooth and sometimes very smooth and it comes out of gear just fine. Otherwise, I can't get into reverse at all. My fiance's father who is a Merc mechanic said it's probably a linkage issue. Any theories?

If it is a linkage issue, how do I fix this? Please be detailed as I'm new at this.

2. TomFL

TomFL Well-Known Member

Here's how I would tackle this problem.

Step one: Load motor into truck
    Step two: Drive to liquer store to pick up (cold) beer.
    Step three: Proceed to fiance's father's house.

See how easy that was?  ;)

-T

3. rkmurphy

Haha I'm trying to avoid being out of a boat for another week.  Plus...can't try to get the big man to cover everything.

His friend made it sound like it was something I could do on my own fairly easily...didn't go through any procedures, though.

4. Brett

Brett > PRO STAFF <

Take the cowling off
    move the shift mechanism slowly
    watch what moves and where it moves
    look for the point where a mechanical clamping device has slipped
    it may be a set screw or bolt
    you'll be able to see the original location of the clamp
    by the scratches on the connecting part
    simple mechanical retrace-ing of shift activation
    plus you'll understand what is happening in the future

5. Un-shore

Un-shore Well-Known Member

Just making sure here, are you talking about when the motor is running it has trouble shifting?

6. rkmurphy

Thank you. I will see what I can do when I get it back...hopefully soon!

While it is running AND when it is off.

7. rkmurphy