Trolling Motor Battery Question

Discussion in 'Power it up with Electronics' started by areastwood, May 21, 2009.

1. areastwood

areastwood I Love microskiff.com!

I have a Center Console Gheenoe Classic with an electric start, 25 HP 4 stroke Yamaha. I am installing a Riptide RT50. I could use some input on the battery slection. Should I go with a a single Dual Purpose AGM battery (been looking at the Odyssey 31M PC1500 and 34M PC2150) or should I install a separate battery for the trolling motor and keep my cranking battery? I like the single battery since it saves wieght over 2 batteries. Any input would be appreciated.

2. tom_in_orl

tom_in_orl Founder of Microskiff, Member of the Gheenoe Army

I have basically the same setup except a 2 stroke. I have been using a single AGM Group 27 for 18 months now. The only reason I would consider two batteries is if my motor didn't have a pull start for backup. Does the 4 stroke come with pull start?

3. areastwood

areastwood I Love microskiff.com!

It currently doesn't have a pull start. It would cost $300 to put one on which is prohibitive. I was considering geting a small 12V motorcycle or lawn tractor battery to use as a spare?

4. tom_in_orl

tom_in_orl Founder of Microskiff, Member of the Gheenoe Army

That should work. I don't have personal experience trying it but a motorcycle battery can crank big v-twins so a 25 hp boat motor should be no problem. Also consider a battery switch so you can move back and forth in case one dies.

West Marine Battery Switch

5. Eric_S

Eric_S Batteries Plus Sales/Service

I do not advise using a motorcycle battery for marine applications. Especially without an alternator, which they are specifically designed for use in conjunction with. They can apply a specific amount of power for a VERY short duration of time without necessary charging from a running motor. They also lose charge very quickly. That is not a good scenario in a back-up battery.