Transom Rebuild on 13' Water Bug

Discussion in 'Boat Yard Basics' started by ABK, Jan 28, 2014.

1. ABK

ABK I Love microskiff.com!

I picked up a 13' Water Bug earlier this year at a price that as too good to let go. I knew when I bought it that the transom would need to be replaced. I just didnt realize that it would need it so soon. After only a couple runs with an 8hp Johnson, I noticed a couple stress cracks and the transom felt a little spongy.

After doing a good bit of research online, I decided to get started. I ripped out the old transom and it was not pretty.
    Here are several pictures of the damage and demolition process.

http://s838.photobucket.com/user/kitchens2197/slideshow/13ft%20Water%20Bug

I will be replacing the transom with 3/4" water resistant OSB and I will try to upload pics throughout the process. I know there are already several threads about this topic, but since this is my first attempt at this, I will take any suggestions you are willing to offer.

Thanks

2. PG350

PG350 I Love microskiff.com!

That transom will be a piece of cake to replace. Looking good.

3. firecat1981

firecat1981 BBA Counselor

EEEK! Do not use OSB! It is not structurally sound and may break apart from the inside out do to vibration and force. If you are on a budget get a piece of 1/2" exterior grade plywood (not pressure treated!). The ply will be much stronger. Cut some strips to laminate for a clamping board up top and you will be golden.

4. DuckNut

DuckNut Brandon, FL

x2 what firecat said.

Who makes the waterbug? Nice looking little skiff.

5. ABK

I'm not sure if you are familiar with the stuff or not but I had planned on using Advantech. Its a subfloor material that I have seen withstand several months in the weather with little or no signs of wear or rot. I was mostly concerned with the potential for water damage. Vibrations never crossed my mind. Its pretty tough stuff but Im new to this so I will take your advise and pick up some plywood tomorrow.