Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, for some ungodly reason, I got rid of my 89 chevy 1500 when I graduated college and bought a mom car; a 2012 Nissan Rogue. I think I have found the perfect gheenoe (15'4 with a 9.9 merc) to get me into the world of motorized fishing, but I am a little worried from some of the things I have heard about towing with these little fuel efficient sedan-like engines and transmissions.

Should I be worried? I don't think the rig would even be close to being over the towing capacity that is listed online (1,000 lbs), but the local Nissan dealer scared me when I asked and they mentioned it could put too much stress on whats under the hood. Side note, I live about 400 yards from the boat ramp I'll be utilizing most of the time...

I appreciate any knowledge you all can provide.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
400 yards???

A rope and garden tractor would get the job done.
Lol, I know. Could probably walk it down there. But what about when I want to make the trip across the panhandle to fish the flood tides in Jacksonville...

·
I Love Skinny Water
5,489 Posts
Just get a decent hitch or mabey that mom car has one. You'll be fine

Reactions: derf1865

·
Registered
247 Posts
So, for some ungodly reason, I got rid of my 89 chevy 1500 when I graduated college and bought a mom car; a 2012 Nissan Rogue. I think I have found the perfect gheenoe (15'4 with a 9.9 merc) to get me into the world of motorized fishing, but I am a little worried from some of the things I have heard about towing with these little fuel efficient sedan-like engines and transmissions.