Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the concept of micro skiffs. I read about people complaining about a skiff being tippy. If you fish solo would you be concerned about a 60 inch beam...is the tippy issue more of a issue for guys the fish 2 or 3?

·
Registered
140 Posts
Welcome! The stability of a skiff comes form is hull design, weight and the beam but more importantly the beam at waterline. Of course the more feet and more weight shuffling around the boat can make it feel more tippy than fishing solo. A 60” beam isn’t very wide, however there are skiffs that narrow and narrower that I would not consider very tippy. Which skiff do you have in your sights?

·
I Love microskiff.com!
Modified Styrofoam Dixie Cup powered by a 20 horse soap sliver and HB Waterman with 50 HP tiller.
205 Posts
I am new to the concept of micro skiffs. I read about people complaining about a skiff being tippy. If you fish solo would you be concerned about a 60 inch beam...is the tippy issue more of a issue for guys the fish 2 or 3?
Hull shape has everything to do with stability. A 60" beam is very stable if the hull isn't too round.
A flatter hull will provide more side to side stability but it'll be louder and ride rougher in a chop.

Adding anglers isn't a big deal as long as they move with consideration.

It's tough to do, but I'd wet test a few skiffs before you decide what you like.

Whatever you do, don't buy it based on someone else's opinion.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Not really sure. Wondering if a 60 inch beam is wide enough but wet testing is tough since most skiffs aren’t in my area.

·
I Love microskiff.com!
Modified Styrofoam Dixie Cup powered by a 20 horse soap sliver and HB Waterman with 50 HP tiller.
205 Posts
Not really sure. Wondering if a 60 inch beam is wide enough but wet testing is tough since most skiffs aren’t in my area.