Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
925 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Generally, what tippet strength do you use for inshore? I tend to 16 but sometimes think it is overkill. However I've hooked into some obvious heavy fish that snap me off so quickly that I think 16 is as light that I should be using. Not talking about going for records or going with light line weights for personal skill satisfaction. Obviously oysters and other structure can influence tippet selection. Thanks

·
Registered
24 Posts
Im still a novice but I have been using 12lb tippet for red fishing. The schools lately have been mid slot so real comfortable with that, if I was dealing with over slot reds or decent sized jacks etc. I would probably be comfortable with 16lb.

·
Registered
4,441 Posts
We fish in the 'glades where the water is dark (and the fish are hungry...). I generally hand my anglers a poor boy leader with a straight 20lb fluoro leader with no bite (or shock) tippet at all... When we start to get into larger snook or reds then I'll add a short trace of 30b as a bite tippet... for really big snook and small tarpon up to around 40lbs the bite tippet goes up to 40lb... For bigger tarpon the bite tippet goes up to 60 or 80lb, depending on the size of the fly.

No you don't need a 20lb tippet for trout or slot sized redfish - but use anything lighter and a snook will just clean your leader - and send you home wishing you'd had a bit heavier leader (and the fish get to choose what they eat mostly so you need to be prepared....).

·
Registered
223 Posts
Maybe I’m just a simple guy from SC but I use 20lb floro almost exclusively for redfish. I do Taper my leader 4’ 40lb mono, 2’ 30lb mono, and 2’ 20lb floro and it makes a difference with presentation.

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
10 or 12 lbs mostly. No snook here and I let them run if need be. If I’m throwing to gar I’ll sometimes add a little 20lbs bite tippet because they miss the fly a lot.