Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Long time lurker few time poster. Wanted to introduce myself and start this long journey of trying to build something that will float and look pretty. My names Tim, im a 26 year old engineer working in chemical manufacturing in houston TX, transplanted from New Orleans. I’m finally marching towards closing on a house that has the 20x20 garage which I have desperately NEEDED. Houston apartment life is about to kill me. What that means is I can finally live out my dream of building boats, albeit small ones for now. I am an absolute noob in all things fiberglass although I am reading books by Chris’ suggestion on fiberglassing which have been more than helpful picking up terminology and getting the general idea of how things are done. I do consider myself very capable with woodworking and think I am patient enough to do pretty sound work.

Truthfully I am an offshore fisherman at heart way before I am an inshore fisherman but my love lies with the beauty of all boats. I am particularly attracted to Chris’s skiffs as I think they make beautiful boats and I believe it to be a great foray into the world of boat building.

I’ve settled on and purchased the beryllium plans as I know the end use of this boat might see some more open water and heavier loads than appropriate for the conchfish. 60-70 horsepower class motor if new. I have an old 1995 50hp mercury that we took off our flatboat when we bought a surface drive back in 2006. I think with a little TLC she would run just fine if I didn’t scrounge together the money for a new motor. I also am certain that I want to build in Chris’s vented tunnel because this boat will be run across the Texas flats of Port O’Connor, Corpus, and here around Galveston.