Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to skiffs. I've fished from sponson skiffs (Vantage) and non-sponson skiffs (several), but not enough to understand what you guys mean when you talk about the sponson "trade-off"? I've been reading a bunch of these forums trying to learn what performance characteristics I need to look for in a skiff for my area (South Central Louisiana), and I often see apparently knowledgeable folks say that there is a trade-off when you add sponsons to a skiff-- but it's always mentioned in passing and without explanation, as if it were something everyone understands already. Would anyone care to enlighten the ignorant? Thanks.

·
Registered
2005 Gordon Waterman 18'
451 Posts
Sponsons help tuck the engine under the platform, move engine weight forward a bit, can act similar to a tunnel but not anywhere as efficient. They can have chop slop noise and can make the boat hard to spin or pole in reverse. Non sponson boats spin better, have less noise but you can hit the cowling poling and the engine weight is at the very rear of the boat so balancing the boat is more critical. There are both good and bad sponson and non sponson boats.

·
Registered
2,390 Posts
Use the search feature on this board - lots of posts about them.

I've owned with and without, but each boat have specific reasons why it had or did not have them.

Sponsons were added to the original skiffs to give more floatation to carry the larger 4 strokes appearing on the market. 4 strokes have gotten much lighter, but the overall benefit is the same - displacement and reducing stern squat.

Slap isn't a bid negative in my book - that can happen with non-sponson boats too.

Sponson to help the boat track much better while on pole and cross wind. But take a little more effort to turn.

Non sponsons can get skatey in cross wind, but also are very easy to turn.