Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Embarking on a fun little project/challenge. Started today with a 17’ glades style skiff. Bear with me as I didn’t buy plans and am doing the design as well as building. The goal is sub 5” draft, 250lb hull, and here’s the biggie, under $1500. If it lasts five years I’ll be happy. Build will be 1/4” exterior ply, poly resin and left over 6 and 10oz cloth from surfboard building scraps. I do not care about speed, the neighborhood has a ramp and all the fishing I need will be within a couple miles of sheltered running. Planning for 15hp power. I also build surfboards so I understand composites, water flow etc. I’m not a pro but giving this a shot.

Ply and resin should weigh out at 185-200, so add some stringers, rub rail and foam and I’m thinking it’ll be right at 225. Guess we’ll see.

heres today’s progress.

priced some materials

- 1/4” exterior ply, $16/sheet $96
- rub rail, stringers, $100
- floatation foam $120
- poly resin $130/ 5 gallons
- cloth- no cost, all scrap
-2x4’s for strong back / stations $60
- lights, rigging, tank, etc. All used $150
- found a scrap trailer for no cost, looking at $300 to rebuild
- paint $150
- misc supplies, sand paper, fairing, etc $300

looking at $1,406 right now but hoping a can trim cost with some scrap wood finds from local builders.

boat specs are 17’loa X 44” center X 36” stern. I’m starting at 18” gunwales but know I’m going to trim. Kinda working off the lines of a fs18.

I’m going to do my best to follow through with this project so hang tight, I’ll post receipts along with build photos starting soon.

·
BBA Counselor
7,230 Posts