Tech Guru Trashes iPhone 4 !!!

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by noeettica, Jul 4, 2010.

1. noeettica

noeettica Well-Known Member

This is from Kayak mike  Tech Guru Extraordinare !

I returned my iphone4 today and thought I would share some of the whys and wherefores.

Just a little background - I'm a computer consultant with over 28 years experience writing operating systems for PCs and embedded consumer electronics like pagers, PDAs, and phones. I've been using a Blackberry for the past 4 years on a 2G EDGE network.

I've been working on developing some phone apps for Blackberry and Android and figured at some point I'd need to get an iphone to do some iphone development. It has been my opinion up until now that iphone and Android would basically be the only surviving platforms with RIM Blackberry, Microsoft-based phones, Nokia, and others fighting for the remaining scraps. The smartphone wars resemble the old PC operating system wars and the platform or 2 with the most users and best tools will likely be the long term winners (ala Windows).

The last 2 weeks have dramatically changed my outlook. 2 weeks ago I was all set to get the HTC Evo from Sprint - the day before I was to get the phone so I'd have a live Android platform I saw all the techie reviews beating the crap out of HTC for building a phone that has basically no power management at all and lasts mere hours. What a bummer - the Evo has everything you'd want with all it's great Google integration (except being able to easily push email from any pop like a Blackberry), HD video, 8MP camera, awesome display, lots of great Google integration and support for Flash and all the industry standard tools you could want.

So I figured well maybe I should hit the iphone next. I could develop my apps for blackberry and android using tools and emulators on a Windows PC, but the iphone would require a new phone AND a Mac for development. So I pre-ordered the iphone4 and was shopping for Macs.