Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 110 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
I have a general question regarding tarpon flies with zonker strips. I see almost all of them tied similar to Flyfish40's fly above.

Since tarpon flies float/suspend above the tarpon, should the zonker be tied in "upside down" so the "pretty" side would be facing the fish instead of the leather side?

Also, If the fly is supposed to ride as high as possible, why are bead chain eyes often added to tarpon flies?

Disclaimer: I have NO experience fishing for tarpon and I overthink a lot of things.

G

·
I have a general question regarding tarpon flies with zonker strips. I see almost all of them tied similar to Flyfish40's fly above.

Since tarpon flies float/suspend above the tarpon, should the zonker be tied in "upside down" so the "pretty" side would be facing the fish instead of the leather side?

Also, If the fly is supposed to ride as high as possible, why are bead chain eyes often added to tarpon flies?

Disclaimer: I have NO experience fishing for tarpon and I overthink a lot of things.
I see most tarpon flies with large holographic eyes instead of beads. Agree with zonker facedown tho. Whats MS goto taropon and juvie tarpon flies? Pictures encouraged.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Another thing to remember when using zonker is that it fouls from time to time. Some tiers use foul guards but as I was told once when asking the creator of the tarpon toad why he does not use them and how he keeps them from fouling he replied, "Better movement and learn to cast better" lol. this means no tailing loops as they cause most of the fouling.

·
Registered
85 Posts