Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well here goes nothing...

After looking over literally every Conchfish build thread, and talking with a few of you guys, im ready to pull the trigger on starting a Beryllium skiff. Not sure what length I will go with yet, but I am thinking a 17-18' finished product would be fitting. Always subject to change, but the idea in my head as of now is a very clean and simple (less complicated) deck layout, one big hatch forward, open cockpit, small storage or crustacean well on the stern, and powered by a 50-70hp tiller. Home is 10 minutes from the 10k islands, and I think running the beach for tarpon, trap lines for tripletail, or sneaking up on backcountry reds and snook will be well within the capabilities of the skiff.

I am a relative newbie when it comes to working with fiberglass, though I have been around boats my whole (short 27yr) life. I like to think of myself as quite handy, able to make things albeit not pretty, so this will be a fun test and learning experience.

This is my prospective shopping list
Shelter logic shelter - ideally will house the skiff when its all finished, so dont mind buying a "fancy" one
10 sheets 3/4" carbon core - Fiberglass Discount Store in Tampa
3 sheets 1/2" carbon core - FDS in Tpa
15 gal vinylester resin - US Composites
125ydx50" 10oz glass - USC
10ydx50" 7oz glass - USC
10lb Cabosil - USC
10lb microbaloons - USC
Brushes/rollers/gloves/respirator cartridges - wherever is cheapest
Big azz fan to keep things cool

Will be building in my back yard, and had the bright idea of trying to create a work station from a flat deck trailer. Keeps things elevated from the water, plus checks two boxes as it will be a good transporter for the next project, 70's era F100. Just dont know if the cost matches what it would actually accomplish... I think I could build a 8x24 elevated deck for around 750 bucks too.