Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have two speakers in the front bulkhead of my skiff. Wiring is a pain in the butt and I'd rather just have as little of it as possible. When I'm fishing the flats I don't listen to music, and when I'm running my two stroker is so loud I'd barely hear it anyways. I use a bluetooth at the sandbar.

How would I patch these holes? I do want to glass over them but I'm a total newbie to doing any kind of glasswork so I don't even know where to start. I'd rather not use round access hatches or anything.

Any advice is appreciated!

Attachments

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
With that damage already done I would use thin starboard pieces with stainless screws to cover the holes and use a little clear silicone to seal.
If that ends up being my best option I'll just pull the wiring but leave the speakers in and seal it up with silicone. I was hoping there would be a way for me to fill and glass it.

·
Registered
211 Posts
Do it right. Do it once.

Sand and bevel the hole edges. Glass, fair, sand, and gelcoat overtop of the holes. If you can get the gelcoat close in color and tint you’d be hard pressed to see the hole repair. Lots of videoes online that can walk you through the repair in detail. Try boatworks today via YouTube, very informative and talks you through the products he uses.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Do it right. Do it once.

Sand and bevel the hole edges. Glass, fair, sand, and gelcoat overtop of the holes. If you can get the gelcoat close in color and tint you’d be hard pressed to see the hole repair. Lots of videoes online that can walk you through the repair in detail. Try boatworks today via YouTube, very informative and talks you through the products he uses.