Skiff suggestions

Discussion in 'Florida Gulf Coast' started by Forgottencoast, Aug 28, 2017.

1. Forgottencoast

Forgottencoast Active Member

Looking for ideas on a new skiff, like I said in my intro post, i fish from panacea to st George. What are some options that I could look at? Keeping in mind I love fly fishing, but also fish inshore with live bait out of Lanark. Anything that would do well for poking/sight fishing as well as be able to handle runs across the sound to dog island? If I fish at st George I could always just put in on the island to keep from having too long of a run.

Does anyone know about the older pathfinder 17t? How are they, besides just being ugly as hell lol

Thanks in advance

2. eightwt

eightwt Well-Known Member

Don't own a skiff yet, fish out of a yak now. So I'm no expert. Might want to check with Harry Spear in Panacea. He builds skiffs and is a well known former guide. My son and I will be refurbing a 13 Whaler and for me will probably work a ok. I fly fish 100 % of the time from St Marks to Panama City. I see a lot of different rigs like everywhere else.

3. Zika

Zika Forgotten Coaster

Looking to buy new or pre-owned? I fish the same waters, as well as farther east in my Beavertail Mosquito. It handles a chop extremely well yet poles easily and floats skinny. I owned a BT Micro before that and made the run from Lanark to Dog one time without a problem as well as Alligator Point to Lanark numerous times. The horsepower limit and tiller steering made those open water crossings long and tedious, although the skiff handled the waves like a cork.