Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Long time lurker, first time reaching out for advice, hoping to lean a few things. I currently own a 2020 Sportsman 207 masters bay boat that I bought last year after we had our first child. Long story short, I convinced myself that I needed more boat/more room because of a growing family when reality all I have done is keep myself out of places that I want to fish because I cant get there on low tide. I am now back in the market for a skiff/flats style boat. While I am no stranger to the water, been on it my whole life, I am new to this style boat. With all that said, I have some questions and hope that you guys can maybe help me in my quest to find the right boat.

I am about 6' tall and 225 pounds and I am looking for something that is stable. So for example, does a beam of 88" vs 80" make that much difference?

I am looking for something that can handle the chop of southeast NC chop on a summer afternoon, keep me dry, ride somewhat decent, and float in about 6 to 8 inches of water. I also want to be able to pole the boat around some, most of the time will be spent on the trolling motor. Am I chasing unicorns or do you guys really get this out of certain boats?

I would like to stay in the 18' range, anything smaller and I feel like you loose storage/room and I would like to salvage as much room as possible for the wife and baby when they do want to hop on.

Last but not least I am looking for name recommendations, and this is where it gets tricky. I would ideally like to stay around the 40k mark but it seems that it would take substantially more than this to bring a boat like this home new. Can anyone recommend a nice quality built boat that satisfy a budget of around 40K give or take. Xplor and East Cape are 2 of the boats that I keep going back to.