Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I’m new to N.C. and am looking for recommendations for locations to shallow water fish or flats fish for redfish and trout. I grew up in Florida so it’s the type of fishing I know and love. I have a small poling skiff that drafts shallow and would like to put it to good use. I’m in central N.C. so the drive will be similar to any area of the coast. If you could provide locations and/or ramps I would be super grateful. Thanks!

·
Registered
462 Posts
Welcome to NC. What are you asking for, general areas or specific locations?
Where are you planning to launch from?
We have productive flats on both sides of the ICW at different times of the year......ICM

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
General areas would be great. Specific flats or locations even better. I will take whatever advice I can get tho. Based on where I live the drive to any part of the coast is the same. I love to sight fish so any place that is a possibility would be ideal. Thanks!

·
Registered
462 Posts
Have you considered a Top Spot Charts? They have detailed info like time of year, species to target & general locations. Well worth the investment in shorting your learning curve.
Also you should note one trip to a new area may not be productive.
For sight fishing to work the stars must align. Like tide, wind speed & direction, time of year, water clarity, fishing pressure, boat traffic lot's of variables.
Talk to guys at the ramps you plan on launching from, for up to date info.
Hope this helps.... ICM

Disclaimer; My last 5 trips I've been skunked.....But I still am hopeful, so I go.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7