Send me a PM with your questions if you need help... But for now I hope this helps you guys!!!

Discussion in 'Photo Hut' started by snooknreds2, Jan 2, 2010.

1. snooknreds2

snooknreds2 Well-Known Member

I am currently out of the country but just discovered this new section of the forum and am very excited about it.  I am not an expert but I do have a TON of information that I want to post up here and share with you guys but right now is not the time for me to do that. 

I am not very familiar with Nikon but know cannon very well.  Please feel free to PM me with any specific questions that you might have about settings.  If I dont know the answer I will say so but help as much as I can. 

One thing that I want to point out is a way to think about these settings.  There is really only three settings that you need to be worried about.  All of them effect the amount of light that shows through into the picture but they each serve a seperate purpose.
    1) aperture, which besides the amount of light, affects the clarity of objects in the foreground and background of the focal point
    2) ISO, this is mainly the amount of light that penetrates the picture but also effects the graininess of the picture.  It also affects the depth of field that the light will penetrate into.  In other words the larger ISO the father into the depth of field the light penetrates. (*** REFER BACK TO HERE WHEN PROMPTED)
    3) is the shutter speed.  Obviously if it is to slow the subjects will appear blurry.  To fast and not enough light gets into the picture

The best way I found to explain this whole subject is to think about a tube with flowing water that has a gate in place to stop the flow, filling a tank of water.

Please forgive me as I am slightly drunk but I will try to explain.

The ISO is like the diameter of the tube and the shutter speed is like how long the gate stays open.