Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ll be using a 65qt yeti style cooler as my center seat on the LT 10. What’s the most common way people secure them to the boat without a grab bar and putting holes in it?

·
Zephyr Cove is on FIRE!
10,312 Posts
Without putting holes in the deck for hold downs or running a ratchet strap around the hull I don’t think there is a way short of having your 300# buddy sit on it to keep it from moving.
I use Yeti hold downs but the Kenedy ones are great too, had them on my last boat.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Smack, I’m new to all of this but we fish the same area so I trust your advice! Thanks for chiming in

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Without putting holes in the deck for hold downs or running a ratchet strap around the hull I don’t think there is a way short of having your 300# buddy sit on it to keep it from moving.
I use Yeti hold downs but the Kenedy ones are great too, had them on my last boat.
Do the yeti hold downs require drilling?

·
Registered
922 Posts
Mine did but they are in the front deck.

Reactions: Texasproud11

·
Registered
922 Posts
That's a big cooler for a lt 10 I would look into a 45 unless you already have the 65. Remember the bigger the cooler the more weight.
Excellent point. I just added a casting platform in place of a yeti 35 due to a) yeti is heavy and b) it’s a pain to move back and forth. That does sound like a big cooler for that boat.

Reactions: TimR

·
Registered
745 Posts
I’ll be using a 65qt yeti style cooler as my center seat on the LT 10. What’s the most common way people secure them to the boat without a grab bar and putting holes in it?
Are you sure you need a tie down? I doubt it would come out of the boat unless you capsize and then it might be good to grab onto for flotation...

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #11