Screenshots from Humminbird's new side imaging sonar

Discussion in 'Power it up with Electronics' started by TomFL, Jul 13, 2010.

1. TomFL

TomFL Well-Known Member

This thing is really cool, still have a ton to learn about it but it's pretty amazing so far. Tons of info on the screen as far as detail and what you're seeing, the learning part is deciphering what you're seeing, which I'm still learning.

Here's a few screen shots from around the roosevelt bridge area in Stuart, which is pretty much the epicenter of big snook in FL.

The screen is split into two halves; the left half is the "normal" sonar, looking down, but it's a very wide cone angle so you can still see a bit to the side.

The right side of the screen is the side scanning sonar. At the top of the screen you can see a small symbol of a boat, this is the hull, moving forward. Everything to the right of that boat icon is to the right of the boat, and everything to the left of the boat icon is to the left of the boat.

In the below screen shots the side sonar range is set to 150' on either side.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Video:
    [​IMG]

2. Frank_Sebastian

Frank_Sebastian Well-Known Member

Thanks for posting Tom. I have rigged up several old sounders with transducers I could "point" in different directions. They all worked more or less, but the Humminbird fishin buddy I have now works well enough to catch bait I can't see. You can also find fish under the bridges, but finding and catching is two different things.

Frank_S

3. TomFL

TomFL Well-Known Member

For sure you hit the nail on the head with that one, Frank!

The humminbird just makes fishing that much more frustrating sometimes!

So far it has come in handy marking bait schools offshore, and I am really just learning about it and what I'm seeing on the screen. I've marked some cool fish along the seawalls and under docks. But yes, catching them is another thing entirely.

-T

4. Tarponator

Tarponator I Love microskiff.com!