Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m a novice fly fisher with a few different weight rods from different manufacturers. While talking with a fellow fly fisher he stated that I should stick with one brand and model across different weights to improve consistency. He said if you have different rods with different actions it will cause you to change your casting strike and it’s better to stay consistent. Is this what most people do? Thanks

·
Registered
205 Posts
Where's the fun in that? Lots of the time you have a different action as you go up or down in weights of the same model rod anyways. Maybe not as drastic as a super fast model rod and a different brand medium action rod. I like to play with an array of different action rods though. Though I do have my favorites. This is just my take on the subject.

·
Registered
146 Posts
No, I don't think it's what most people do. Yes, some rods do require you to adjust your stroke, or find the stroke and rhythm they work best with. This will be true within the range of a rod model though too -- the 3 and the 8 aren't going to like the same stroke. I don't believe the advice against polygunning applies with fly rods. Ideally, you get accustomed to working your way through a different rod.

·
Registered
470 Posts
Do whatever you think is best for you. I’ve got slow glass fly rods and very fast graphite ones often using both on the same outing. Do I change what I do with each rod? Yes, sure, but where’s the harm in that? I guess if you are trying to win a casting championship maybe the one rod line up might be the thing. Otherwise, it’s just fishing and having fun while at it so do whatever.

·
I Love microskiff.com!
584 Posts
I don’t think it matters
I always use my friends rods when I fish with them so I don’t have to pull mine out of the rod tube when we switch up every time