Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
302 Posts
I use a 21’ on my Saltmarsh 1444 and its ideal. I’m not an expert but my experience is; polling from cooler: 17’+ , polling from platform; 20’+ , polling in 4-6’ of water(tarpon) 24’ish

If you are buying a new heron, I got a great price on the moonlighter carbon pole that was tough to beat. I’m very pleased with it, it’s lighter and just as stiff as a stiffy hybrid. The only thing is if you pole in deeper water you might want a heavier pole. I use it in 6’+ Freshwater fishing but you have to shoot it down fairly hard to get traction

·
Registered
73 Posts
I’ve got a Heron 16 with a 20’ Stiffy Hybrid and no trolling motor, so I’m poling or drifting. The 20’ length does really well in skinny water and a sand or grass bottom. However, I run out of pole at times fishing over soft mud. Also, when poling in 3-5 ft. of water, I could pole more efficiently (smaller angle relative to the bottom) if I had 3-4 ft. of extra pole. I’m in the process of getting my pole extended to 23’.

I suggest going with 23-24 ft. Even if you fish shallow most of the time, you’ll be placing the pole less often, and you’ll be able to pole in deeper water if you need to.

·
Registered
937 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Perfect, that helps quite a bit. I figured a longer pole would be a smart decision. I will likely go that route.

jwaddiso

I would be interested in hearing how you like the heron 16. Where you fish and overall how it performs.

·
Ankona Sales Rep
2021 Ankona Advent
2,983 Posts
Get the longest pole you can store. Longer pole equals less pushes from point A to point B and you can keep the foot or stake in the water more when pushing instead of pulling it out and breaking the surface...which could spook fish.

·
Registered
73 Posts
CKEAT,