Removable trailer tongue

Discussion in 'Boat Yard Basics' started by swaddict, Oct 10, 2013.

1. swaddict

swaddict Thread Killer

I'm planning on making my trailer have a removable tongue.  My current set up is an all aluminum trailer with a 3" x 3" (1/4" thick) aluminum tongue.  I've purchased a 2.5" x 2.5" (1/4" thick) square aluminum tubing for the part that slides into the existing 3" x 3" trailer tongue (that will be shortened).  Can I use the 2.5" x 2.5" aluminum square tubing alone as the new trailer tongue or do I need to purchase a 3" x 3" tubing to weld to the new smaller tubing to mount the coupler?  Any thoughts appreciated.

2. whm302

whm302 I Love microskiff.com!

What size boat/weight and length of trailer? What grade aluminum is the 2.5" square tubing?

just fyi im a stuctural/mechanical engineer if you can answer these few questions i can tell ya if its gonna work or not. also im assuming your gonn pin the two sections together? how much material will be inserted inside the 3" tubing?

3. swaddict

swaddict Thread Killer

17' skiff, weight including trailer I'd have guess less than 2,000 lbs. The new piece is 6061-T6, length of trailer is close to 20'

4. timj

timj Well-Known Member

I would think that it would have to be of the appropriate strength to either way as it will have the same amount of weight and force on it used either way. My trailer is aluminum and has a swing tongue which is made of galvanized steel. I would probably just cut my existing tongue and use one of these:

http://www.etrailer.com/Trailer-Coupler/Fulton/FHDPB330301.html