Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello
(I'm new to MicroSkiff, so please let me know if this is posted incorrectly.)
I want to add a poling platform to my Yamaha, G3, 18' tunnel jon. I intend to use it in the Southeast USA, Florida to Texas chasing bonefish, tarpon, reds, etc. as applicable. I plan to spend the month of May in the Keys and want to have the platform built before that.
I appreciate any advice or recommendations for a vendor in the southeast who you have confidence in building a custom platform. While southern Florida may make the most sense, I will be driving from Idaho, so other areas of the southeast are possibilities.
Thanks, guys!

·
Registered
478 Posts
Somebody close to you. So you can test fit after they get it tacked up. There are a lot measurements/angles in your particular application. One old school off the transom may be a better/simplest approach. But motor movements, height and transom angle are all in play.

·
Registered
4,736 Posts
Any competent pipe welder can work up a poling platform for you -provided you know what you need (and what you want...). If you haven't ever used a pushpole much what you want - as opposed to what you actually need... might cause you some difficulty... Most boat builders actually have a business or shop they deal with that provides the poling platforms for their hulls. Wish I could make a proper recommendation so I'll just hang out and see what others have to say...
Along with that platform you're going to need a pushpole and some means of securing it to your hull on the water - and when you're towing your rig down the road... That particular type of hull will require a bit of ingenuity to even be able to keep a pushpole on it properly....

·
Registered
4,736 Posts