Questions about 6hp Suzuki Two Stroke Outboard, Problems??

Discussion in 'Outboard Maintenance' started by rashouri87, Jul 19, 2009.

1. rashouri87

rashouri87 I Love microskiff.com!

Im pretty new to small outboards and manual starts and things of that nature. So I just bought a 2002 (?? not sure of the year exactly, but its either late 90's or early 2000's) Suzuki 6hp two stroke for my gheenoe from a friend. He took it and got it serviced before selling it, new plugs, rebuilt carb, ect. When i got it back at first it cranked first pull every time without even choking it. Now I can't get it to start without choking it after it cools down from use. After the initial start, the motor cranks up first pull without choking, i.e., I go for a little while, shut down the motor, fish, 10-15 minutes later I go to crank it and it turns right over, first pull, no choke, no hassle.

Is this normal?

Could I just be over-priming it or could it be something more sinister??

Once or twice I forgot to open the valve on the tank, but corrected it very shortly after, could this ruin the motor by causing it to run too lean? I use a 75:1 ratio as per the previous owner's instruction, the manual says 100:1 but the previous owner said it runs better 75:1.

Could this choking issue become a larger issue down the road?

Also, When I was taking the motor out of my trunk once, i tripped over my trailer tounge and fell over with the motor in my hands into some dirt, could this seriously damage the motor?

I do NOT want to find out the hard way that I had messed up my motor and this was a symptom of a bigger problem. I'd prefer not to get stranded in a remote location. Sorry about the 21 questions, but I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Thanks!

2. Brett

Brett > PRO STAFF <

Using the choke to start a cold motor is not a problem.
    Using the choke to keep it running once it starts, is a problem.
    If it still runs after the short trip, and no visible damage, keep on running.