Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my old Kennedy craft is a great boat,however the hull seems to have a lot of flex in chop. I see a lot of stress cracks around the boxes. My question is...should I floor in my boat or just somehow strengthen the sides to keep the flex down. I’d also like to hide my wiring as well and thought I could floor it and add piping under it to run wiring?? I’m a newbie to this but hey if ya don’t ask what will you learn?

·
I Love microskiff.com!
223 Posts
Post pictures. You could probably add walk around gunnels with glassed in under gunnel rod holders, adding stiffness for less weight. Wiring can easily be run under the gunnels and is concealed with easy access when needed. Also they may make the boat more fishable for you depending on your preferences.

·
Fly-By-Night
3,138 Posts
DuckNut means that the flat part of your floor is the "deck". It looks like you'll need to cut that out then re-install the floor/deck. From the looks of the picture we're not looking at the inside of the hull, but the sole/deck/floor whatever you want to call it. Likely polyester glass over plywood, and yes prone to flexing after years of use.

Edit to add: I could be wrong but the pic definitely makes it look that way.

·
Brandon, FL
10,149 Posts
That flat surface on the inside of the boat is not the hull. That is the floor/sole. You can tell because there is a drop off around the perimeter indicating that it is raised and placed on to of the stringers, and the flat v shape up toward the bow is covering up the v shape of the hull.

As low hydrogen said, probably wood covered with resin and chopped strand mat which has rotted. Might even be some water soaked foam under it.

·
Brandon, FL
10,149 Posts
Take a drill and drill 1/4" through it. If it comes out the bottom of the hull, we are wrong.

Don't think we are.

·
Brandon, FL
10,149 Posts