Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to flats skiffs. My last one was a Gheenoe 15.6 Classic. I used an adjustable Super Stick and that worked great for the noe. I had a beck on the back about 1.5 feet above the water line. I have bought a Mitzi 17 with a platform that is more like 3 feet above the boat deck. How long does my push pole need to be, and what type do I need to get. I will be using a trolling motor most of the time but will be really skinny in the creeks. Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
278 Posts
Your going to want a 21ft pole at the least, carbon is the only material pole I will buy after switching from a fiberglass one. I don’t have a trolling motor so poling the flats is all I do, the lighter the better

·
Registered
189 Posts
Yeah definitely agree on Carbon Fiber, our at least a hybrid, you can't believe how light they are. I pole my 18 foot skiff with a 24' pole. I bought that length because I found one on craigslist. It's really no problem to store on the boat for trailering, and having that extra length to walk down the pole is really nice. The only thing I have to be careful of is taking off with too much pole hanging off the transom. The drag of the water on the foot can pull it out of the holders and I have had to turn around and go pick it up. One time while trying to flag down another boat that was about to run over it!

·
I Love microskiff.com!
347 Posts