Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for push pole recommendations. I’m new to polling, fly fishing the Islamorada lower keys area. What should I be looking for in a push pole?

·
Registered
881 Posts
Stiffy guide, I use a 21 down there and would rather have a 23. 18' skiff. If you are fishing shallow water only and have a low poling platform a 21 is fine, but there have been several times I wanted a 23.

·
Registered
169 Ranger Ghost
28 Posts
I like the stiffy hybrid. I’ve hung on that thing pretty good and I never worry about it breaking.

·
Registered
60 Posts
My stiffy hybris has been pretty good. Its 21’ kinda wish I had a 23-24 with my 18’ skiff at times. But the 21 works pretty good.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Stiffy guide, I use a 21 down there and would rather have a 23. 18' skiff. If you are fishing shallow water only and have a low poling platform a 21 is fine, but there have been several times I wanted a 23.
Great advice! I’ll be on an 18’ so I’ve been leaning 23 as you indicated.

·
I Love microskiff.com!
1,908 Posts
I replaced a Stiffy Hybrid with a Carbon Marine GL3. Much lighter, better, than the Stiffy Hybrid. I also have an 18' skiff and went with a 21 footer. A couple more feet couldn't hurt either.

·
Registered
1995 Viper 19 Flats Boat and 13’ gheenoe highsider
51 Posts
Whatever you get, get it from seven mile fly shop! Support your local shops

·
Registered
2,180 Posts
I used a 20 foot Stiffy Hybrid for years and years. Good combination of toughness and weight for that length. A 23 or 24 foot, I'd be leaning towards something a little lighter. I'm going to look at MHX push poles when they time comes.

·
I Love microskiff.com!
308 Posts