Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m new to flats boats, have a Beavertail Lightning...I didn’t buy it for poling but hoping I’ll be able to, any advice on pole to buy? My home port is Venice LA....

·
Banned
12,340 Posts
Longest pole you can afford. I second a Stiffy Hybrid 24 because you will need a stiffer pole that is still light to pole a 20’ boat in the marsh. And yes I have poled my boat in several areas there, I use a Stiffy Guide and wished I had a Hybrid since it’s stiffer and that marsh mud is serious.

·
Registered
2,636 Posts
Your boat is big. LA bottom is muddy. Longer is better. But that also means your going to have some weight in your hands. I'd buy the best pole you can afford. Stiffy!

And yes get in touch with Rocky Thickstun and see what he has available. One of the biggest issues with getting a push pole is shipping/delivery.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Looking at the Stiffy poles...Any preference in multi-piece, one-piece, or one-piece modular?

·
Registered
387 Posts
one piece 24' ought to do the job. I'd also recommend the G3LR from carbon marine. I don't own one, but have used one several times and is my favorite pole. So stiff and light. I'm sure the stiffy hybrid is good too, probably a little cheaper. How much are you going to use it? Every time your out, 6-8 hours/day? Or just every now and then, poling a flat here or there? Might not be worth dropping top $ if you're not going to use it much.

·
Registered
4,480 Posts
Longest pole you can afford. I second a Stiffy Hybrid 24 because you will need a stiffer pole that is still light to pole a 20’ boat in the marsh. And yes I have poled my boat in several areas there, I use a Stiffy Guide and wished I had a Hybrid since it’s stiffer and that marsh mud is serious.
The guide has a lot less flex than the hybrid, especially in the 23-24 ft range. I have owned both of them at that length.

·