Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

Push Pole Length

1851 Views 52 Replies 36 Participants Last post by  Tomkos
Ok before I get all the rule of thumb "3ft longer than your boat" responses, I know the rule of thumb. What I am looking for are folks that are going longer. My sled is 16 and change and am wondering, as I am starting to look for a new pole, if there is any advantage to exceeding the 3ft rule of thumb. Is 19 just right? Would 21 or 23 be absurd? What are the advantages/drawbacks of being too long? Having pole that's too long is something I have zero life experience with... :sneaky:
Reactions: CoffeeRun
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

· Super Moderator
4,331 Posts
21 would be the max I'd do, 20 would be better. Yes, longer is an advantage when poling deeper water. or soft bottom. But for me, the trade-off in dealing with docks/ramps, trailering, running and storage just isn't worth it.

· Registered
3,065 Posts
I used a 20 foot pole on an 18 foot boat for years. My new pole is 23 foot. The theory being getting a little more forward motion without having to reset the pole which makes noise no matter how careful you are.

· waterman 16
983 Posts
Ok before I get all the rule of thumb "3ft longer than your boat" responses, I know the rule of thumb. What I am looking for are folks that are going longer. My sled is 16 and change and am wondering, as I am starting to look for a new pole, if there is any advantage to exceeding the 3ft rule of thumb. Is 19 just right? Would 21 or 23 be absurd? What are the advantages/drawbacks of being too long? Having pole that's too long is something I have zero life experience with... :sneaky:
21 or 22 is the sweet spot. Not longer unless you tarpon fish a lot.

· Registered
269 Posts
21 would be the max I'd do, 20 would be better. Yes, longer is an advantage when poling deeper water. or soft bottom. But for me, the trade-off in dealing with docks/ramps, trailering, running and storage just isn't worth it.