Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for advice, experience...
I've poled boats down wind and couldn't stop for a second without the boat hooking or turning the nose into the wind. I suppose if you want to pole against the wind it's ideal. Is it hull design 馃 or what. I would prefer to choose the direction I want to pole to and post up without fighting the constant turning actions.

Let's hear what you guys have to say.
Let it rip!

Registered
Mine tends to swing stern out in the wind, I just use the pole to compensate. I'd be surprised if most skiffs didn't do it when the wind is blowing. I'm pretty new to the poling skiff game though, I sure some of salts on here will have a more educated answer.

Zephyr Cove is on FIRE!
Are you poling open an flat, shoreline, creek etc? Everyone likes to pole down wind or quartering down wind but upwind has it鈥檚 benefits. Steve Huff loves to pole into the wind and for good reason. If he swears by it it can鈥檛 be a terrible idea!
Poling down wind I find the sweet spot and every stroke hits that angle or a little either way to keep the boat going down the shoreline even if it鈥檚 dog tracking (at an angle but still moving the right direction). It鈥檚 a constant adjustment that you will only get that 鈥渟econd nature鈥 feeling after you have done it long enough. Poling into wind is going to cause more hull slap and your angler on the bow will be casting into or close to into the wind the whole time. If they are good this is not a terrible idea. If they are novice it鈥檚 probably flirting with you getting a free fly piercing or wear the person out faster.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Are you poling open an flat, shoreline, creek etc? Everyone likes to pole down wind or quartering down wind but upwind has it鈥檚 benefits. Steve Huff loves to pole into the wind and for good reason. If he swears by it it can鈥檛 be a terrible idea!