Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a 17’ skiff and am removing the poling platform, due to balance issues. I’m looking for info/instructions on how to possible it from the deck of the boat. TIA

·
Registered
34 Posts
Are you saying to take that poling platform and then mount it on the front of the bait? I’m not a structural engineer but you might want to just consider throwing a casting platform on there. Sounds like there’d be some issues with that.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Are you saying to take that poling platform and then mount it on the front of the bait? I’m not a structural engineer but you might want to just consider throwing a casting platform on there. Sounds like there’d be some issues with that.
absolutely not just removing it and am considering poling fm the deck

·
Registered
2,215 Posts
This a Ranger 191? Main obstacle poling from the deck is clearing the motor with the push pole. Have you considered adding a sissy bar or wrap around cage on top of the platform? They make cages that will absolutely keep you safe.

Reactions: The Fin

·
waterman 16
515 Posts
I recently bought a 17’ skiff and am removing the poling platform, due to balance issues. I’m looking for info/instructions on how to possible it from the deck of the boat. TIA
In the old days, before the poling platform, a skiff was poled backward from the bow. Did it for many years. Easiest and quietest to pole or pole/drift with the wind. But many, many fish have been caught that way. I still do it sometimes when fishing alone.

·
Registered
949 Posts
Yeah I push my jonboat like that sometimes and the motor can be a pain. Are you fishing by yourself?

·
Registered
65 Posts