Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
16 and this is my first year on fly so kinda new to this but I've been going out every morning in search of some migratory tarpon. Ive seen a couple small schools but for most of the day its pretty empty I was hoping to find advice on where to anchor up and wait on them. Please help me out I'm trying to have some success before the next 180 days without the beautiful giants.

·
Registered
2,748 Posts
Oliver
There are a couple of problems with your request.
1. Tarpon are without a doubt the fish guys are least likely to help out another angler with. They are already hard to feed with all the pressure they get.
2. It doesn't go over well when the first post a guy puts up on a forum is looking for a fishing spot.

I don't know anything about PCB so couldn't help you anyway. What I would suggest is to find some local guys (hang out in local fishing shops and spend a little money to support the business). Check if there are any local fly fishing clubs. Gonna be a better bet than asking on an open forum.

Good luck and welcome to the addiction,

Steve

·
Registered
399 Posts
You said you found some fish already so I would say stick close to the area you're looking in. Pay attention to a few things next time you see fish. Where are they coming from? Which direction, water depth, etc.. and too where are they going? Look at maps to learn about the topography of the area

·
Registered
730 Posts
You said you found some fish already so I would say stick close to the area you're looking in. Pay attention to a few things next time you see fish. Where are they coming from? Which direction, water depth, etc.. and too where are they going? Look at maps to learn about the topography of the area
What Tailwalk said.

You've found some, now try to figure out why. You're putting money in the back and starting to earn interest if you can get an idea at 16.

·
Registered