Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
CD96FABD-24A8-4D5A-9AD2-0005A2862420.jpeg
I have a 18ft Jon boat that I’m trying to turn into a flats skiff.
Right now it’s green/black camo color. The problem is that it gets really hot while in the sun, and it just doesn’t look good. So I’m trying to paint it.
I’m new to this and wanted to get some guidance on how to paint it. How should I go about painting a boat? And what kinds of paint should I use? Thanks

·
Registered
1,534 Posts
The most economical way would be, lightly sand, blow off dust, wipe down with denatured alcohol ,roll on Rustoleum marine paint primer and finish with a lighter color Rustoleum marine paint. If you want to leave the the boat in the water a few days, you'll have to go with a 2 part paint below the waterline.

·
I Love microskiff.com!
142 Posts
I just walked in for a beer, have been prepping my jon this morning. In the 90's here today...again! I'm doing only the inside, that is good info suggested by bassflats.

I'm using a ppg agriculture flat paint, etcher for raw metal, ppg primer. The rustoleum is probably way more economical than the ppg and probably just as good.

I'm lucky to have three orbital sanders, two air, large and small, one electric in the shop. Has really helped cleaning the old glue off where the carpet got done away with. There really ought to be a better seat and floor covering.

I used ppg on suggestion from the shop that set up the jet and installed extra storage boxes and hatches.

·
Banned
12,340 Posts
Get the dust cleaned off as soon as you get done sanding and get a primer coat on right away. Aluminum begins to oxidize immediately after being introduced to the air and paint won’t stick to oxidized aluminum. It’s a very common mistake.
I did TuffCoat inside and decks and Tasca Urethane on the outside with GatorGlide G4 on the bottom of my aluminum boat. Loved it.

·
I Love microskiff.com!
142 Posts