outboard on long runs..

Discussion in 'Outboard Maintenance' started by ChrisDoza, Sep 29, 2013.

1. ChrisDoza

ChrisDoza I Love microskiff.com!

i dont necessarily have a problem with my outboard, but a question on long runs. i have been boating for 7-8 years now and have never had to make any truly long runs. usually just a few miles at a time, maybe 5 miles at the very longest. the outboard i run is a 2004 30hp johnson enforcer 2 stroke (black military version) and she runs like a top, only has just over 110 hours on it, and my question is how long a run would you guys be comfortable taking in a motor this size? i ask because my bro in law and i plan to take yearly trips to the everglades and would like to fish from everglades city to lostmens/rogers area. now i dont think i would plan on making a straight run to there as this would be a 3-4 day adventure but would longer runs like 15-20 miles be a problem? of course id run under WOT for lengthy runs.

2. Creek Runner

Creek Runner Well-Known Member

I run my Outboards @ WOT for as long as it takes me to get where I'm going or have to slow down for what ever reason.

I'll run my 25hp 2 stroke Merc for 45min WOT, my Shearwater I have ran for about an hour @ WOT, When we fire up the trip 300hp on the Contender we have made 180 mile runs straight at 5300-5400rpm's.

And the only reason the times aren't longer is because its time to FISH! I'm going where the fish are and I plan on getting there in a hurry! :cool:

3. I got the same outboard, but mine is white and I run it at wot a lot usually 12-14 miles at wot and it never missed a beat! Great motors I have put 110 hours on mine in 4 months and just did a compression check and it's a 125 psi on both.

4. cutrunner

cutrunner Cert. Yamaha technician

As long as its up to date on being serviced and the thermostat is checked, new plugs,gear oil, water pump etc it wouldn't phase me. Now if it was a neglected motor, no

5. lemaymiami

lemaymiami Well-Known Member