Outboard Hours

Discussion in 'Outboard Maintenance' started by jtgriffin, Nov 30, 2012.

1. jtgriffin

jtgriffin I Love microskiff.com!

Hey fellas,
    I'm new to boating and am trying to soak in as much info here as possible. I had a question about outboard engine hours.

I know that a lot has to do with how well and often maintenance was performed, but when you're looking to buy a used boat, how many hours should you expect to get out of an outboard engine?

2. Brett

Brett > PRO STAFF <

Typical saltwater outboard can do 1000 hours before irregular maintenance destroys it.
    I've seen commercial engines that made it 2500 hours due to a religious maintenance schedule.
    Big problem is corrosion, metal fatigue and the design life of the electronics.
    Running the engine at 3/4 throttle or less improves the chances of a longer lifespan.

3. DuckNut

DuckNut Brandon, FL

I have 6 Mercury bigfoot motors and I would say the one with the least hours is with me in FL and a very conservative estimate on hours is 3,000+.

These are not standard motors and I do not take them to the doctor everytime their nose runs - I let it break and then fix but I can say that they nave never let me down and I use them like I rented them.

The one in FL is a 25 with a lower unit from a 60. These things are heavy and tough. If I were ever to buy a used motor I would never buy mine. ;)

The best advice I can give you is to look at the sacrificial metals on the motor. If they are shot then the motor is not far behind. Even if the compression checks out OK but the diodes are junk the electrical system already has started to rot as Brett said.

4. Creek Runner

Creek Runner Well-Known Member