Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
I Love microskiff.com!
182 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Moving to the Ormond Beach area later this year. Can anyone recommend a good guide for flats or inshore fishing? I know nothing of the area water wise. It's been over 20 years since I've been on the water there and that was just a cruise around the Intercoastal.

What kind of species can I expect around there? I'm hoping for snapper, trout, snook, reds, and sheepheads.

I've got a flats boat now, but am gonna sell it before I move. Looking to downsize and get skinnier. Grew up here in S Fl and have lived in the Keys the last 20 years. I've got plenty of experience fishing saltwater, but not much in freshwater. I figure I'll have the best of both worlds, with lakes and rivers up there, along with the saltwater areas I'll be near. I'd like to get into some freshwater fishing too, but will mainly be fishing saltwater. So I'm curious; should I stay with a fiberglass skiff or can I get away with a jon boat or aluminum skiff? Only downside to an aluminum, that I know of (aside from corrosion after years in salt), is they're louder and can scare fish you're stalking.

Disclaimer: Mods, please move this thread if I've posted in the wrong forum.

Reactions: Stevie

·
Registered
322 Posts
We moved just north of there to Flagler Beach a little over a year ago. Really love the area but I have definitely been struggling with figuring out the fishing and consistently catching. You can expect to find good fishing for Redfish, Speckled Trout, Snook, Flounder, Mangrove Snapper, Drum, and Sheepshead. In addition to those I've caught Sailcats, Bluefish, Jacks, and even Spanish Mackerel, but no Tarpon yet although those are definitely around. Further south toward Ponce Inlet you will find a few more species. If you fish up the Tomoka further from the ICW you can get in to Largemouth Bass.