Non-skid application

Discussion in 'Boat Yard Basics' started by jfboothe, Jan 25, 2013.

1. jfboothe

jfboothe I Love microskiff.com!

Is it better to apply the granular type non-skid (griptex, interlux, etc) by mixing it in with the paint or by sprinkling it into the paint? What looks the best? If sprinkling into the wet paint how much do you use?

I have been trying to research this and (as it with everything anymore) everyone has their own way of doing it and that is the best/only way.

2. Salty_South

Salty_South Well-Known Member

I have only done it once, so I'm no expert. When I did my floor with awlgrip, I applied the first coat, punched holes in the bottom of the texture can, and salt shaker'd it out as thick as possible. Once it was dry I air hosed all the excess beads off and applied one more coat of awlgrip. Has been rock solid for over a year now. The grip applied is definitely overkill but there are no inconsistencies in the texture. Hope this helps!

3. jfboothe

Thanks Salty. That does help. It appears from searching the net that either sprinkling it onto the paint or mixing it in gives good results. I have never done it but I have such a large area to do (sole, forward and aft decks) that I would like to get it right the first time.

I think I am concerned about not getting a consistent surface if I use the sprinkle method.

4. mudd_minnow

mudd_minnow BE THE LURE

I went to the Glidden store, talked to the sales guy, explained I wanted an industrial 2 part epoxy paint and non skid to add to the deck of my boat. He gave me exactly what I wanted and explained how to use it.

I had alot of area to paint so I got a gal of it. I painted the top and bottom of the deck (removable lids) then went back after the paint was tacky mixed in the non skid into the paint and painted over the top deck. It was very ruff and worked very well. I added all the container of non skidd because I wanted maximum non slipage.
    Here are some pics.