Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to poling a flats boat, any suggestions on a good place to practice around Charleston? Preferably somewhere isolated so I'm not bothering other people and completely embarrassing myself.

·
Registered
86 Posts
I'm new to poling a flats boat, any suggestions on a good place to practice around Charleston? Preferably somewhere isolated so I'm not bothering other people and completely embarrassing myself.

Find a friend that likes to fly fish and offer to pole him around. He will yell at you until you figure it out lol. Seriously just put someone on the front and try. It’s something that comes quick, just don’t fight the boat. Let the current, wind, etc help you make the boat do what you want.

·
Lip Ripper
1,715 Posts
Find a creek and just pole. It takes a few times to get it dialed in but it won't be that difficult after a while. Eventually you won't even think about it. Where are you in Charleston?

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Find a creek and just pole. It takes a few times to get it dialed in but it won't be that difficult after a while. Eventually you won't even think about it. Where are you in Charleston?
I live on James Island, thanks for the advice

·
Registered
1,923 Posts
You'll be doing a lot of overcorrecting at first. If you're on a soft bottom don't overwork it. I have switched out with friends and when they get on the platform they ask how I was doing it. The key in mud is to push hard enough to get the skiff moving and no harder. If you really get after it your are just burying your pole further in the mud, then you have to get said pole out of the mud which kills your forward momentum and gets you worn out and frustrated quickly.

Also, I have found over the years that I use my hip to put or hold pressure against the pole. Hard to explain. Rivets and snaps on your pants are not your friend here.

·
Premium Member