Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to boating, new to saltwater fishing and ready to learn from people in this group. Here is a link to my new (to me) 1999 Carolina Skiff J16 with a 2013 Evinrude Etec 25HP. It needs a little hull work, but I'm excited to ocean fish and learn little by little about this boat and fishing the gulf coast.

Any advice is welcome.

Here is a video to see my new boat:

Attachments

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome. Nice boat. Looks very clean and well taken care of. What part of the Gulf Coast do you live?
Thank you! It definitely has a few hull cleanups to do on the bottom.

I’m in Sarasota, FL. How about you?

·
Registered
533 Posts
Georgia coast. About 30 miles south of Savannah. I used to live in Fort Myers. Snook fishing was fabulous down there back in the day. Fished the Panhandle quite a bit but never near where you are. Best advice I can give is seek out advice from a local bait shop. Those guys want your business and will point you in the right direction. Also study charts and learn the tides. Know the limitations of your boat and just fish areas that look fishy. Ask yourself , If I were a fish would I want to live here? Watch the birds. Birds eat bait. Find the birds, find the bait. Find the bait? You guessed it. Find the fish. I’m sure there’s a few folks on here in your area that will chime in and give you much better advice than I can. Most important, just get out there and enjoy yourself.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·