Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am sure this question has been asked hundreds of times, but I am new to fly fishing and I am just trying to do some research. I live on the Georgia coast and I want to start chasing after reds, trout, with the occasional trip down to south west Florida for snook, small tarpon etc. I would be fishing from both land and sometimes a boat. What would you guys recommend for a good beginner fly rod setup? Any info is greatly appreciated!

·
Lip Ripper
1,715 Posts
I suggest an 8wt for what you're chasing. As far as rods and reels go you may actually start a war with that. But my suggestions are below. Also, honestly reels don't really matter that much at first when you're learning. But if you're looking for something to last then go Tibor or Nautilus.

Budget friendly Rod: Echo Ion XL 8wt 9ft
Mid Priced: TFO BVK 8wt 9ft
Used Rods: Scott Meridian, Orvis Helios 2, Sage Salt.. etc. Typically you can find a used rod for about the price of a new BVK.

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Agree with an 8wt, lots of options as to which one. Kinda goes to your personal casting stroke. If you can try some out at a fly shop, would be good, or get with someone with experience and try some of theirs.

·
Registered
88 Posts
I'm sort of new as well and I recently got a used TFO Mangrove rod in 9wt that casts great. I'll yield to the more seasoned folks here on weight but you might want to look at a TFO.
BTW, lot of really helpful folks on here that will give you good advice.

·
Registered
4,734 Posts
An 8 or a 9wt, a floating line -a beater reel that will hold at least 100 yards of backing... and you're ready to get started... Learn to cast with it, then learn your knots and a bit about flies - then use it, again and again... You'll learn to catch a fish or two, you'll also learn what you like (and what you don't like...).