New Suzuki 20 or 2000 Merc 25?

Discussion in 'Outboard Maintenance' started by eratanun, Oct 27, 2013.

1. eratanun

eratanun I Love microskiff.com!

So I thought I had my mind set on a brand new Suzuki 20 4 stroke out the door for $2600 out the door with tank and taxes...  I just recently came across a 2000 Merc 25 2stroke with power tilt/trim for around $2000. 

Not really looking forward to buying and mixing 2 stroke oil, but love that the merc shifts in the tiller grip and has the extra 5hp (which will offset the extra weight 114 vs 97).  Since I'm brand new to microskiffs and outboards, I'm relying on you guys' opinions.  I know Mercury is a solid name, but it's also a 13 yr old motor...  Thoughts?

2. cutrunner

cutrunner Cert. Yamaha technician

Tough decision.
    That will all come down to personal preference honestly.

3. Herd from a buddy that has the new 20 it's real good on gas but it feels like it has no torque since it's shuch a small cc 20, just like the 70 yami 4 stroke gotta rev the mess out of it to get full power aka 6000 rpm plus

4. Gramps

Gramps Living & Dying in 3/4 Time

I'm a fan of lightweight power, ie 2 strokes. Buy a mixing jug, gallon of oil, roll of blue shop towels and keep them together in a box/bucket, I kept them in a milk crate.  Easy enough to throw in the truck when I need to get gas then toss it back in the garage.

As long as the engine checks out; compression, lower unit, etc., there is no worry with an old two stroke. Aside from the motors I bought with obvious problems, never had an old 2 smoker give me issues.

5. HaMm3r

HaMm3r Well-Known Member

That Merc is a rare gem if it's got factory tnt. I'd buy it as long as it runs.

6. jwarren

jwarren I Love microskiff.com!

another vote for Merc 25.....more power, several shallow water settings, gearshift in tiller...to me these outweigh mixing gas.

7. mark_gardner

mark_gardner I Love microskiff.com!